Home SAE announces new Equity, Inclusion, and Diversity Committee members

SAE announces new Equity, Inclusion, and Diversity Committee members

EVANSTON, IL – The Supreme Council/Board of Directors of Sigma Alpha Epsilon is proud to announce members of its Equity, Inclusion & Diversity Committee. Under the stewardship of Eminent Supreme Chronicler/Secretary Ben Johnson (UC-Irvine ’87), it will focus on developing and promoting strategies to ensure the values of diversity and inclusion are respected and integrated within the SAE community.

Based on the organization’s values that are specifically enunciated in our creed, “The True Gentleman,” all members of Sigma Alpha Epsilon are expected to “think of the rights and feelings of others rather than his own.” As such, the committee will concentrate on efforts so that all brothers — present and future — feel wanted, welcomed, and connected as members for life.

“These are aspirational goals that we will continue to challenge ourselves so we are living them every day,” said Johnson, “this means, but is not limited to: having difficult but respectful conversations, education, and being intentional about our policies and processes.”

“For Sigma Alpha Epsilon to fulfill its Mission and Vision, we have to take the right steps to meet challenges and respond to a changing environment,” said Greg Brandt, Eminent Supreme Archon, “the Supreme Council and Fraternity Service Center are committed to a maintaining a culture where members feel a deep since of respect and belonging.”

The newly reestablished committee represents our membership’s diversity and will provide insight into one of the many issues important to Sigma Alpha Epsilon. Its initial projects will focus on advancing the intellectual, moral, and spiritual welfare of members and raising chapter educational standards.

Equity, Inclusion & Diversity Committee Members

Ben Johnson (UC-Irvine ’87), Chairman

21-year member of the Alvord Unified School District Board of Education, two decades of healthcare experience

Caleb Keith, Ph.D. (Millikin ’06), Chronicles & Education Chairman

Director of Institutional Effectiveness and Survey Research at Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis

Sam Lim (Missouri-Kansas City ’18), Policy & Procedures Chairman

Graduate Fellow for the Center for Diversity and Cultural Enrichment at Salem State University, City of Salem Mayor’s Cultural Council member

Luis Visot, Ph.D. (South Florida ’78)

United States Army War College Foundation Board of Trustees, Nonprofit Leadership Center of Tampa Bay Board of Directors

Evan Balzer (Florida ’23)

Undergraduate member at the University of Florida pursuing aerospace engineering

M. Christopher Brown II, Ph.D.

President of Kentucky State University, Founder of the Atwood Institute on Race, Education, and Democratic Ideal

Fred Kleisner (Michigan State ’66)

Five decades of corporate management experience, SAE Foundation Board of Trustees

Hector Lozada (Florida State ’21)

Undergraduate member at Florida State University pursuing sports management

Joey Quick (Minnesota ’23)

Undergraduate member at University of Minnesota pursuing human physiology

Sheldon Woods (IUPUI ’14)

Education consultant with a focus on diversity and community engagement

Juan I. Faria (Salem State ’17), Staff Liaison

SAE Financial & Housing Controller, holds a Master of Science in accounting